Lorac Unzipped Palette vs Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette – Comparison and Review

So there is a lot of hype at moment about both the Urban Decay Naked 3 and the Lorac Unzipped palettes as well as many people comparing the two and saying they are similar.

I recently purchased both of them and thought I would review them both and do a comparison with swatches showing the differences.

 The Lorac Unzipped palette retails for $40.00 USD (I had purchased and shipped over from America by a friend) and contains 10 shades. It comes in a pale yellow card board packaging with a magnetic closure and has mirror inside.

The shadows in this palette are quite warm pink, gold and bronze tones. These eye shadows are very pigmented and smooth and blend very nicely. This palette contains four matte shades and six shimmer shades.

Lorac Packaging

 Lorac Shadows

The Urban Decay Naked 3 palette retails for $52.00 USD (I purchased from www.tarazz.com and paid around $65 for it and then around $17 shipping, however this website no longer stocks Urban Decay) and contains 12 shades. This palette comes in a rose gold colour tin that had ridging on the top and a snap shut closure. This palette also comes with a mirror inside and a duel ended brush that has a blending brush on one side and a shader brush on the other side.

This palette contains more cool tones pink shades and some taupe shades. The shades in this palette are nicely pigmented and most of them a quite smooth, some are a little chunky which I’ll talk about below and I don’t find these shadows to have the same pigmentation as Urban Decay shadows normally do however they are still very good quality. This palette contains three matte shades and the rest are shimmery/glittery.

UD Packaging

UD Shadows

 (All shadows are swatched and listed from left to right)

Lorac Unzipped Top Row – Undercover, Unbelievable, Unattainable, Unconditional, Unbridled

Undercover is not very pigmented

 Lorac Top Row

Lorac Unzipped Bottom Row – Undiscovered, Unreal, Uncensored, Unspoken, Untamed

 Lorac Bottom Row

Urban Decay Naked 3 – Strange, Dust, Burnout, Limit, Buzz, Trick

Strange is quite chalky, Dust and Buzz are very chunky and Trick does not apply very pigmented to the lids

 UD Top Row

Urban Decay Naked 3 – Nooner, Liar, Factory, Mugshot, Darkside, Blackheart

 UD Bottom Row

Overall I think both of these palettes are beautiful but I don’t think they are similar at all, I mean yes they both have rosy tones to them but the Lorac one is more warmed tone and has more golden/bronze and burgundy shades and the Urban Decay Naked is very cool toned and has more pale pinks and taupe shades.

They both are great in regards to quality however I do think the Lorac on is more pigmented and smoother and I do prefer the shades in the Lorac on over the Naked 3 as I have blue eyes and I find the warmer tones bring out the blue in them and also suit my skin tone better. For me personally I like the Lorac one way better than the Urban Decay one but I am glad I own both and due enjoy them both for different looks.

If you are tossing up which one to get I would recommend looking at the shades and deciding if you would prefer a more cool or warm toned palette depending on your skin tone, eye colour and general preference.

Disclaimer:

 All products mentioned in this post were purchased by me with my own money. I am not being paid or sponsored to do this review and all thoughts are my own.

8 thoughts on “Lorac Unzipped Palette vs Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette – Comparison and Review

  1. Thanks for doing this review I love it! I’ve been looking into unzipped since the PRO is prob my all time favorite palette but wasn’t sure since I already have the naked 3. It’s great to see swatches and your reviews on them both. Thanks again!

  2. I think the quality is slightly different, they are not quite as buttery as the pro palette but they are still amazing quality. I think I actually prefer the quality of the unzipped because you don’t get as much fall out. Let me know if you do get it and how you like it 🙂

  3. Pingback: Eyeshadow Palette of the Week – Week Four – Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette | A Beauty Obsession

  4. Pingback: May Blog-A-Thon Day Nineteen – Eyeshadow Palette of the Week – Lorac Unzipped Palette | A Beauty Obsession

Leave a Reply

